7 Ohio State football players on preseason awards watch lists

Then-junior defensive lineman Michael Bennett (63) celebrates recovering a fumble during a game against San Diego State Sept. 7 at Ohio Stadium. OSU won, 42-7.Credit: Lantern file photoThe Heisman Trophy is arguably the most prestigious and recognizable trophy in college football, but seven Ohio State football players have been named to preseason watch lists for other notable awards.Senior quarterback Braxton Miller, who has earned the distinction as Big Ten Offensive Player and Quarterback of the Year for the past two seasons, has been named to the watch lists for the Maxwell Award, the Davey O’Brien Award and the Walter Camp Trophy.The Maxwell Award recognizes the college player of the year as voted on by members of the Maxwell Football Club, coaches and sports writers. The Davey O’Brien Award is presented to the nation’s best quarterback, which Miller was named as a finalist for in 2012, and the Walter Camp Trophy is another player of the year award that takes character into account.Joining Miller in preseason honors from the offense are senior wide receiver Devin Smith, who was named to the Biletnikoff Award watch list, and senior tight end Jeff Heuerman, who was placed on the watch list for the John Mackey Award.The Biletnikoff is presented by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., to the most outstanding receiver, and the John Mackey Award recognizes the most outstanding tight end in the nation.From the defensive unit, senior defensive lineman Michael Bennett and sophomore defensive lineman Joey Bosa were named to the watch lists for the Chuck Bednarik Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy and the Rotary Lombardi Award.The Chuck Bednarik Award is presented to the defensive player of the year by the Maxwell Football Club, while the Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America and is presented by the Charlotte Touchdown Club. The Rotary Lombardi Award, named after former Green Bay Packers coach Vince Lombardi, recognizes the best lineman or linebacker in the country.Bennett was also named to the preseason watch list for the Outland Trophy, which is presented to the nation’s best interior lineman.Joining Bennett and Bosa is senior linebacker Curtis Grant, who was placed on the preseason watch list for the Butkus Award. The Butkus Award, named for Dick Butkus, is presented by the Butkus Foundation to the nation’s best linebacker who displays achievement on the field and in the community.Finally, sophomore punter Cameron Johnston was selected for the Ray Guy Award, which is presented by the Augusta Sports Council to the nation’s top punter.OSU is scheduled to start its season Aug. 30 against Navy in Baltimore, Md. Kickoff is set for noon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *