NASCAR lineup at Bristol: Complete starting order, pole for Sunday’s race without qualifying

first_imgThe starting lineup for the NASCAR Cup Series race at Bristol on Sunday was set by the same procedure that will determine the starting lineup for the next five Cup Series races, all of which will be run without prior practice or qualifying sessions.The starting grid for Sunday’s race at Bristol, scheduled to start at 3:30 p.m. ET and broadcast live on Fox, features a handful of Fords at the front of the field as a result of the procedure that utilizes a combination of points standings and a random draw to set the lineup. MORE: Updated NASCAR Cup Series schedule for 2020As for pit stall selection for the next five Cup Series races being run without qualifying, it will be ordered based on finishing positions from the series’ previous race, followed by new entries in order of points.Below is the starting lineup for Sunday’s Bristol race and how it was set.Who is on the pole for the NASCAR race at Bristol?For the second time since the NASCAR Cup Series returned from its coronavirus-promoted hiatus, Brad Keselowski won a random draw to earn the pole position to start a race.No matter which lane Keselowski chooses to start Sunday’s race, he will have a Team Penske teammate behind him, as Joey Logano will start third alongside Ryan Blaney in fourth based on the results of the draw. Aric Almirola will roll off second. Below is the protocol for how the Cup Series field was set at Bristol.Positions 1-12: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner pointsPositions 13-24: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner pointsPositions 25-36: Random draw from charter teams in those positions in owner pointsPositions 37-40: Open teams in order of owners pointsNASCAR starting lineup at BristolThe same protocol that set the lineup for Sunday’s Bristol race will be used to set the lineup for the upcoming Cup Series races at Atlanta (June 7), Martinsville (June 10), Homestead-Miami (June 14) and Talladega (June 21). All of those races also will run without prior practice sessions with the exception of Talladega, which will have an hour-long practice session the day before the race.As for Sunday’s race at Bristol, the draw for the starting lineup took place Friday. Below are the results.Pos.Driver1Brad Keselowski2Aric Almirola3Joey Logano4Ryan Blaney5Martin Truex Jr.6Chase Elliott7Kyle Busch8Kevin Harvick9Matt DiBenedetto10Denny Hamlin11Alex Bowman12Kurt Busch13William Byron14Matt Kenseth15Erik Jones16Ricky Stenhouse Jr.17Ryan Newman18John Hunter Nemechek19Chris Buescher20Austin Dillon21Tyler Reddick22Cole Custer23Clint Bowyer24Jimmie Johnson25Michael McDowell26Bayley Currey27Joey Gase28Quin Houff29Ty Dillon30Gray Gaulding31Garrett Smithley32Corey LaJoie33Ryan Preece34Brennan Poole35Christopher Bell36Bubba Wallace37Daniel Suarez38Timmy Hill39BJ McLeod40JJ Yeleylast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *